Call Today 888.918.9890
Do I Need to Report a Car Accident to Police in NY?

Do I Need to Report a Car Accident to Police in NY?

If you have been involved in a car accident in New York, you may be wondering if you are required to contact the police at the scene of the crash. Although there are some situations where you do not need to do so, you must always report a car accident. 

Calling the Police 

According to the New York State Vehicle and Traffic Law, if anyone in a crash suffers an injury or dies, you are required to call the police. You must also file a Report of Motor Vehicle Accident (MV-104) report with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Keep in mind, law enforcement officials will also file an accident report with the DMV – even if you or another party has already filed a report. 

Reporting a Car Accident to the DMV 

If a car accident results in more than $1,000 in property damage, all drivers must file an accident report to the DMV. You and the other driver(s) have ten (10) days from the date of the crash to report the crash. 

On the other hand, if the property damage is less than $1,000, all parties involved must exchange contact, driver’s license, insurance, and registration information. If a parked vehicle was involved, the vehicle’s owner must be located and notified, or else you must call the police. 

What Happens If You Leave the Scene of an Accident in New York? 

Leaving the scene of an accident only involving property damage is a traffic crime, punishable by a maximum jail sentence of 15 days and/or a fine not exceeding $250. Leaving the scene of an accident involving an injury is a Class B misdemeanor, which carries a jail term of up to 90 days and/or a maximum fine of $500. 

Leaving the scene of an accident involving a serious injury is a Class E felony, punishable by imprisonment for up four (4) years and/or a maximum fine of $5,000. Lastly, leaving the scene of an accident involving death is a Class D felony, which carries a maximum prison term of seven (7) years and/or a fine of up to $5,000. 

Remember, you may face such penalties for failing to report the accident or providing false information in the accident report. 

If you have been injured in a car accident caused by a negligent driver in Brooklyn, call Belushin Law Firm, P.C. at (888) 918-9890 or fill out our online contact form today for a free initial consultation. Our firm has recovered millions of dollars on behalf of our clients! 

Categories:

Reach a Dedicated Personal Injury Lawyer

Request Your Free Case Consultation Today
    • Please enter your name.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.